EPCC early colleges receive National Blue Ribbon

October 9, 2018


Two of El Paso Community Colleges early college high schools have been recognized as National Blue Ribbon Schools of 2018. 


Northwest Early College High School in the Canutillo Independent School District and Mission Early College High School in the Socorro ISD have been recognized. These campuses were the two out of many in the county to receive this honor. 

Students and teachers at Northwest celebrated their award with a pep rally, photos and many cheers on their great accomplishments. 






Not only have they had this great honor but also proved to be one of the two best schools for students to attend. Northwest is the first high school campus in the Canutillo history to receive a blue ribbon honor.


 Principal Tracy Speaker-Gerstheiner has said that the campus wasn’t making enough progress when it came to their test back in 2012 but this award on Monday has shown them how far they have come. 


“I think it’s just a small example of the great things happening in this district.”Some of these students sacrifice their teen years to enter a school that is getting them prepared for what is to come in the future. 


These schools get them ready, college ready but they know that so that is why they decided to make this sacrifice. 


Being named one of the National Blue Ribbon Schools has shown these students that they did this for a reason and they will continue to be motivated to strive higher.  Mission ECHS is in fall intercession so the students were unable to receive the good news. 


A district spokesperson has said that the students will celebrate this achievement when they return to class in two weeks. 


Mission ECHS was name based on the Exemplary High Performing School category. Socorro ISD Superintendent Jose Espinoza said the Blue Ribbon honor reflects the commitment of teachers, staff and administration on the mission community. 


“I am extremely proud that Mission Early College has put Team SISD on the map once again as a National Blue Ribbon School.”


“I am pleased to celebrate with you as your school is named a National Blue Ribbon School,” said U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos in a video message to the honorees. 


“We recognize and honor your important work in preparing students for successful careers and meaningful lives. Congratulations on your students’ accomplishments and for your extraordinary commitment to meeting their unique needs.”


The National Blue Ribbon Schools awards those who are hardworking educators, families and communities in creating a safe and welcoming schools where students are able to master challenging and engaging content. 


Please reload

Featured Posts

Tejanas national champions

November 15, 2014

Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload

Search By Tags