EPCC's Mitei takes California cross country meet

October 3, 2017


The EPCC men’s and women’s cross country teams were divided in two last weekend so that they could compete in two different events.

The A-teams traveled to Santa Clarita, CA, where they competed in the Master’s University Cross Country Invitational, while the B-teams travelled to Hobbs, NM, where they competed in the NMJC Cross Country Invitational.

The EPCC women impressed with a third place finish at the California meet.


EPPC's Shalet Mitei won the women's Open division at the 2017 Master's University XC Invitational in Santa Clarita, CA.

The Tejanas competed against other junior college, NAIA and NCAA division-3 schools.

Shalet Mitei won the meet’s individual competition by nearly eight seconds with a time of 17:45.6.

The other EPCC finishers were Evaline Cheptoo, who finished seventh with a time of 18:53.2; Michelle
Renteria (11th, 19:09.6); Ocean Stevens (16th, 19:18.1) and Celeste Zamarron (32nd, 20:28.3).

Cross Country coach Felix Hinojosa was proud of all his athletes, but was especially impressed with his women’s team.

“The women’s A team averaged a time of 19 minutes and 7 seconds, which is very respectful,” said the reigning NJCAA Coach of the Year.

The EPCC men’s squad took fifth in the meet. The Tejanos were led by Sammy Rono, who finished third with a time of 25:38.3.

Other EPCC finishers were Michael Kirwa (6th, 25:47.0); Michael Flores (29th, 27:15.8); Esteban
Esquivel-Reyes (41st, 28:36.9) and Evan Gerdes (49th, 29:21.9).

“The men’s A team averaged a time of 26 minutes and 35 seconds,” added Hinojosa.

The EPCC women’s B-team finished sixth out of seven teams at the NMJC Cross Country Invitational in Hobbs, NM last Sunday.

The meet, run at Harry McAdams Park, was won by South Plains College (Levelland, TX).

The Tejanas were paced by Amy Vital, who finished in 23rd place with a time of 21:39.02 21.

The other four runners were Sholly Jeruto (25th, 21:53.20); Samantha Martinez (26th, 22:03.34);
Daniella Ruiz (35th, 22:47.59 31) and Merari Valenzuela (40th, 23:16.31).

The men’s B-team only sent four runners to the meet so they couldn’t compete as a team, but they did run as individuals.

The Tejanos were paced by Adrian Morales, who finished 16th with a time of 26:58.56.

Other EPCC finishers included Boaz Kipemei (22nd, 27:26.040; Cesar Gonzalez (33rd, 28:06.34) and Eric
Hunt (35th, 28:15.79).

The cross country squads have a bye this week, but will be getting back into action on Oct. 13 as they
Travel back to Hobbs to compete in the University of the Southwest Open.

Please reload

Featured Posts

Tejanas national champions

November 15, 2014

Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload

Search By Tags