EPCC forensics team sweeps competition

April 4, 2017

 El Paso Community College stamped their authority on the national debate scene with a dominating performance at a forensics tournament on March 23 to 26.



EPCC's Performance Studies and Debate team impressed at the 2017 Pi Kappa Delta Tournament held in Boise, Idaho.


EPCC’s Performance Studies and Debate team competed in the 2017 PI KAPPA DELTA National Tournament held at Boise University in Idaho, taking 37 national qualifications into the American Forensic Association National Individual Events Tournament (AFA-NIET), which is held, at Bradley University in Peoria, Illinois from April 1-3.

Winning more qualifications than any other school in their AFA-NIET district, EPCC Director of Performance Studies and Forensics Keith Townsend, said this has been EPCC’s best showing at the prestigious national competition. 

“El Paso has some very talented students in the area of Performance Studies.  They are passionate and are able to communicate that passion through their performances of literary pieces that speak to their generation,” said Townsend. 

The Pi Kappa Delta tournament was one of four major national tournaments EPCC’s forensics team qualifies for. 

They also qualified in the National Forensic Association National Tournament, the Phi Rho Pi National Tournament and the American Forensic Association National Individual Events Tournament at Bradley University in Peoria, Illinois. 

As a whole, the team earned the Excellent Community College Team, Excellent Individual Events Team and Excellent Combined Overall Team Sweepstakes Awards. 

Individually, seven different competitors earned individual awards.


Diego Oropeza won Top Individual Showcase Performance in Dramatic Interpretation. 

Salvador Ali Mendoza earned a Top Individual Showcase Award in Poetry Interpretation. 

Stephanie Avila, Mendoza, Oropeza, Sabas Del Toro and Hannah Perches all earned Awards in Prose Interpretation. 

Sabrina Bustillos earned an award in Extemporaneous Speaking. Oropeza and Del Toro earned awards in Program Oral Interpretation Performance. 

Del Toro and Erick Canales earned awards in Dramatic Interpretation while Avila, Del Toro, Oropeza and Diego Parada rounded out the individual competitors with awards in Poetry Interpretation. 

Sarah Curtis and Canales as well as Jordan Catanach and Mendoza earned awards in Duo Interpretation, in which partners perform a literary piece or program derived from publish material. Diego Martinez and Sabrina Bustillos both won Superior Debating Awards for their performances in Parliamentary Debate.

Besides the students performing well in competition, the tournament was important for EPCC Forensics’ leadership, Townsend and Anguiano. 

Townsend was re-elected as Governor of the Lower Mississippi Provence. As a Pi Kappa Delta National Council At-Large Representative, Anguiano will serve on the National Council as they create the governance of the fraternity as a whole. 


Please reload

Featured Posts

Tejanas national champions

November 15, 2014

Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload

Search By Tags