President's address defines the college's new path

September 13, 2016


“Every single student will be on a path regardless of the difference on time,” said Dr. William Serrata at the State of the Colleges conference. 


Photo by Jose Hernandez

A new year has come to EPCC and our faculty and staff are prepared to lead students into a pathway to success.


“We are a big happy family under this big umbrella,” said Dr. Julie Penley at the beginning of the conference.

During the conference, vice president of workforce education, Steve Smith, addressed the five goals of EPCC for this year: help students choose and enter a pathway, clarify the paths to student end goals, help students stay on path, and ensure path leads to successful completion resulting in the transfer or job.

 “These are the reasons why we are all here; we are here to make their dreams come true … student success is our top priority,” said Smith. 

In addition, a new feature is coming to EPCC by May 2017. “Maps by May,” was the title chosen to show this new feature that will help students see what classes they need in a simpler way. 

The map will be a detailed instruction of the student’s program.


This will help to identify the entrance and requirements to a course, the equipment and supplies needed, embedded certificates and industry examinations or certifications.

Another new program at the college is Meta Majors.


This will help students identify the program they want to choose from the four available at EPCC: science, technology, engineering, and math. The object of this program is to help students avoid taking any classes that they don’t need.

Serrata also introduced some administration changes to the college.


The new associate vice presidents are Julie Penley, Instruction and Student Success, and Dr. Jaime Farias, Workforce and Continuing Education.

The new deans are Dr. Carlos Amaya, Architecture, Arts, Math, and Science at the Valle Verde campus, and Blayne Primozich, Communication and Performing Arts at Valle Verde.


The new interim deans will be Dr. Cristina Gonzalez, Education and Career & Technical Education at Valle Verde, and Joshua Villalobos, Campus Dean Instructional Programs Mission del Paso campus.


Please reload

Featured Posts

Tejanas national champions

November 15, 2014

Please reload

Recent Posts

June 29, 2020

Please reload

Search By Tags