Ramirez elected President of the Faculty Senate

May 5, 2015


By Lauren Ramirez 


Once again, El Paso Community College held its elections for the Faculty Association and Senate positions.


For the seventh time, Carina Ramirez, EPCC Valle Verde English as a Second Language (ESL) instructor, was elected as the President of the Faculty Senate. 


“It is my passion to represent the faculty and look out for their interests and concerns,” Ramirez said.




File Photo

Carina Ramirez, El Paso Community College English as a Second Language

(ESL) instructor, was elected as the President of the Faculty Senate.




Ramirez said she is vocal about her goals toward an equitable salary increase for both full-time and adjunct faculty. 


“We all work toward what we believe to be the best interests of the faculty, students and the college,” she said.   


Ramirez works with EPCC’s Board of Trustees on the Workload Procedure, which addresses several inequities in number of contract hours versus compensation.


She said she decided to run for president again in February in hopes that she would benefit faculty and the college.


“I have to concentrate on the issues at hand and on the success of my students, particularly since finals are so close at hand,” Ramirez said. “Most of my colleagues have been extremely supportive. Without their encouragement, I’m not sure I would have gotten this far. They know I shall never abandon them nor shall I ever betray them.”


Others elected to the Faculty Association include: Blayne Primozich, full-time vice president; Rodolfo Hernandez, adjunct vice president; Celeste Favela, secretary; Tracy Von Maluski, full-time senator, Mission del Paso campus; Ruben Gomez, adjunct senator, Mission del Paso campus; Rebecca Escamilla, full-time senator, Northwest campus; Mary Ervin, adjunct senator, Northwest campus; Debra Tomacelli-Brock, full-time senator, Rio Grande campus; Joe Bernal, adjunct senator, Rio Grande campus; Rebekah Bell, full-time senator, Transmountain campus; Pat Barrientos, adjunct senator, Transmountain campus; Tawny Aguirre, full-time senator, Valle Verde campus; Jennifer Rosales, adjunct senator, Valle Verde campus. 



Please reload

Featured Posts

Tejanas national champions

November 15, 2014

Please reload

Recent Posts

June 29, 2020

Please reload

Search By Tags